Greetings!

My name is Rudy and I’ll also be contributing to this blog in conjunction with Dan. Like him, I graduated from Northwestern University in 2009 with a B.S. in computer engineering. My interests in gaming lie very much in the board game realm. The reason for this are two characteristics common to board games:

  • Direct, face-to-face social interaction; and
  • Varied, player-generated story development

What I most appreciate is that, like a good novel, movie, or other form of passive entertainment, a board game has a plot that places you at the center of the action. Now, this is not to say that I don’t enjoy other forms of gaming; I also have some favorite console and computer games, but in those media I find that the games I like most are, when you boil them down, an electronic implementation of something you could play at your kitchen table.

I’m excited to see where Dan and I (along with future contributors) can take this discussion on gaming. I expect my initial contributions to be very board game–focused and analytical, perhaps drawing on my background in economics to model game mechanics.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

